Anger

I’ve been going through my notes looking for ideas about anger and I found this quote from Vernon Howard.

“Anyone can conceal anger, but the spiritual hero is one who ends its cause, which is unconscious egotism.”

Unmet expectations can create all kinds on emotions but what conditions create anger? I think it is self-righteousness. When a person over-values themselves and under-values others then the tendency is toward anger.

Anger with its excess energy yells, “How dare you do this to ME!!!!” Which is to say its high self-opinion says, “I’m worth so much more than this. Don’t you know who I am?” Anger and superiority seem to go together.

Simultaneously with anger comes the great cooling factor: desire. Lust, greed, gluttony, intemperance, etc.

Self-wrongeousness would say, “Of course you would do this to me. I’m not worthy. I’m not deserving. I ought to be punished.” It goes down into depression and worthlessness.

When we perceive voids within then we become hungry for them. We become a predator. That hunting is putting your own needs above others – it is the desire to consume, take and even kill. It is the path to violence and anger.

Self-righteousness appears to be the product of ignorance – the inability to see full quantum. Thus the antidote for anger is owning what is missing, recognising equality with others and the contentment of full quantum awareness. ie humbling and levelling down.

Leave a Reply

